This week I took a subject (“sadness”) that I wasn’t really looking forward to photographing and turned it into a jumping off point for a series of photos.  I ended up having fun with the assignment, and now have documented one of those small, routine-type of moments in my life.

I’m referring to bath time.  For my bulldog.

Bath evenings usually start out fun enough – this particular one we were on the floor playing ball.  But then I said Can I ask you something?

1/60  f1.8  50mm  ISO800  M

He seemed intrigued.   Until the dreaded question came.  Do you want to get a bath?

1/60  f1.8  50mm  ISO800  M

His honest-to-goodness reaction to the question.  There’s my sadness!

Bless his little heart, he begrudgingly obliged and slinked upstairs to meet us in the bathroom.

1/80  f1.8  50mm  ISO400  M

Just get it over with, his look conveyed the entire time.

1/80  f1.8  50mm  ISO400  M

After a good shampoo and rinse, the challenge then is to lift him out of the tub and simultaneously wrap a towel around him, before “the shake”.  This particular night I was successful.

1/50  f1.8  50mm  ISO800 M

This is the point the sadness turned into joy and invigoration.  We opened the bathroom door and he couldn’t escape fast enough – freedom!

1/200  f1.8  50mm  ISO800  M

The next move is always a belly-flop onto his futon to further dry off … and maybe make more laundry for me.  This night was no exception.

1/40  f1.8  50mm  ISO800  M

Maybe his celebration has nothing to do with trying to dry off, but more so with that look in his eyes.  Invigorated.  Elated.  Relieved.  He survived another awful bath!

1/50  f1.8  50mm  ISO800  M

While shooting all of these photos, I wanted to be mindful of my shutter speed (moving subject) but also allow enough light in (indoors, evening time).  So I shot in Manual mode entirely.  This was the first time I didn’t tiptoe back to Aperture or Shutter priority.  Once I learned to pay attention to the light meter on my viewfinder, I started getting the hang of adjusting the settings quickly on the fly.

Which is a good thing.  Because how else do you capture a thrashing, belly-flopping bulldog late in the evening?

1/50  f1.8  50mm  ISO800  M

