I sit at a desk all day solving problems people have with my company’s software package.  I’m not complaining, it pays the bills very nicely.  But while the logical part of my brain gets a fantastic workout throughout the day, the creative part .. not so satisfied.  Others in my department apparently felt the same way.

When I got my dSLR, I happily babbled on about my new gift to anyone that would listen at work.  I came to find others that have dSLRs, all stuck on the AUTO setting.  Mix in Andy, our unofficial department photographer, and the Shutterbug club was formed.

We decided upon a nice sunny day to embark on a photo walk during our lunch hour.  Andy declared it ‘aperture priority’ day – he would teach us what putting the dial on ‘A’ meant.  I discovered that by using this setting, I control how much light is in the photo, and the camera takes care of the rest of the settings.  I like it!  I still have to think this through in my head … a lot of light is a large lens opening, small f number, making a fuzzy background …. less light is a small lens opening, large f number, clear focus everywhere …. and sometimes it makes sense and other times it doesn’t.  Practice I suppose!  Well here’s a good start, some of my favorites from the day –

1/200  f11  18mm  ISO 200  (taken on A)

I took this 2nd shot for comparison – noticed with a lower f# (larger lens opening, more light) it has slightly more vivid colors than the 1st shot

1/250  f8  18mm  ISO 100  (taken AUTO)

1/1250  f4  18mm  ISO 200  (taken on A)

This next one was declared the ‘shot of the day’ .. but later was (jokingly) thought to be potential eviction from Shutterbug Club since I staged the shot

1/1600  f5.6  55mm  ISO 200  (taken on A)

1/800  f5.6  28mm  ISO 200  (taken on A)

1/800  f5.6  32mm  ISO 200  (taken on A)

1/1250  f5.3  40mm  ISO 200 (taken on A)

