Bet you thought this post was going to be more pics of my precious bulldog.  Surprise, it’s not!  While enjoying a marvelous stay-cation, decided to spend the afternoon at the museum yesterday.  Specifically the new dinosaur exhibit.  Not only was I able to correctly recall many of the dinosaur names before actually reading their signage, I conquered some fears of museum photography.

I downloaded a pretty cool app for the iPhone awhile ago, but really only put it to use just yesterday.  I’ll definitely be consulting it more now – it’s called PhotoCaddy.  It gives scenarios for almost anything you can think to take a picture of, along with tips & suggestions and typical settings to shoot with.  Basically, a mobile cheat sheet.  But if you’re a newbie like myself, you can let it slide, it’s a great learning tool.  Reading the tips & suggestions specific to my subject, before I even started shooting, helped put me in the right mindset of what to be cautious of – in this case, poor lighting (keep a steady hand, since I don’t have a tripod).  I also adjusted my camera settings to coincide with the app’s recommended typical settings for museums (Aperture priority, f/5.6, ISO 200).  And THEN I went off on my photo expedition.  This work upfront helped me take better pictures I believe.  But judge for yourself –

1/4  f5.6  18mm  ISO200  A

1/3  f5.6  18mm  ISO200  A

1/2  f5.6  32mm  ISO200 A

I bumped the exposure value up & took the same shot.  Unsure of which I like better, this next one may be a bit blown out

1  f5.6  32mm  ISO200 EV1  A

These next 2 shots aren’t necessarily great shots, but it’s a great tip I learned behind the shot.  Remember my frustration last museum visit? Glass enclosed objects got the best of me.  That was until I read this – “Where suitable, you can try pressing the camera right up against the glass.”  Look, no glare!

1/8  f5.6  18mm  ISO200  A

“For other exhibits, move around until you find a spot where the reflections are minimal.”  Since these scary fish guys were roped off, I tried just that.

1/4  f5.6  28mm  ISO200  A

And my parting shot.  Roar!

1/8  f5.6  36mm  ISO200 A

 

