I’m really happy with my interpretation this week.  But let’s back up to last Wednesday.  I started seriously reconsidering my ability to complete the photo challenge once this week’s topic was revealed.  Control?  Really?  How does one capture that??!  I went to dictionary.com like I’m sure everyone else did, but that didn’t really help.  I had already knew what control meant – I just didn’t know how to apply it in a photo.

So since I didn’t know how to visualize my subject, I started rather by dreaming up places I could go on a photo expedition to capture my ‘control’ picture.  I knew I already had plans to stop by my Grandpa’s house to check out his annual model train spectacular.  Thoughts of tiny railroad crossing gates, pint sized police men directing traffic filled my head .. and then so did some excitement about this weeks’ challenge.

I’m not only happy with the shot I am submitting, but I’m happy with how I got to it.  Here it is again with the specifics –

1/6  f5  34mm  ISO200  P  WB – incandescent; manual focus

Patience was key here- waiting for the gates to lower and the train to pass took just a few shots. Trying to get the gate in focus and everything else not, well that took a few more, the realization that I should try manual focus, a few more tries, then bingo!  There was the shot I was after;  I felt it as soon as I got it.

But what did people do before digital cameras?  Not able to see your results immediately, but worse, developing every shot and spending the time and money to do so?  Prayer of thanks for technology went out after this shoot. Well, and a curse – this was the first time my camera battery died!  Here’s some other shots I was able to capture before that happened…

More ‘control’ shots:

1/4  f3.5  18mm  ISO200  S  WB – incandescent;  Post processing – antique

1/4  f9  35mm  ISO200 S

And some fun with panning and objects in motion:

1/4  f5  35mm  ISO200 S

1/6  f6.3  24mm  ISO200 S

1/3  f9  32mm  ISO200 S

