1/2000  f6.3  164mm  ISO100  EV-3  A

I read various tips on how to create a silhoutte photo.  The most popular one being to set your subject up in front of direct light (ideally, sun) and expose for the brightest part of the photo.  I found this technique to be a challenge while taking photos at the zoo over the weekend.  It was a bright sunny day, around the noon hour.  I had my telephoto lens which made it near impossible to get the sun and my subject in the frame together (this may have worked with a wide angled lens though).

So I instead experimented with another technique – exposure compensation.  I dialed down to -3 or -2, and shot at different angles.  My chosen photo above is a partial silhouette.  You can see some details in the rhinoceros foot and ears, but I think it adds some interest.

For comparison’s sake, here’s a version of that photo without the exposure compensation adjusted.

1/320  f6.3  175mm  ISO100  A

Perhaps it’s not the rhino’s best side that I photographed (poor guy!), but I think this is a good example of when a silhoutte can make for a more appealing photograph.

