This past weekend Tom and I decided to pop into our local museum to see their holiday tree display: six 20-foot Colorado spruce trees lining the Hall of Architecture, each adorned with handcrafted ornaments that celebrate art, culture, and science.

1/13 f3.5 18mm ISO400 A

1/25 f3.5 18mm ISO800 A

1/30 f3.5 18mm ISO800 A

Also on display was a rather impressive Nativity set, Neapolitan presepio. Handcrafted by artisans between 1700 and 1830, it depicted the Nativity as seen through the eyes of Neapolitan artisans and collectors. There were many people admiring the beauty of this display, making it difficult to capture a good picture of the entire set. So I zoomed in on the most important part.

1/15 f5.6 55mm ISO800 A

Mindful of my weekly photo challenge assignment to photograph something “pink”, we then ventured towards the Hall of Minerals and Gems. I found many gorgeous pink gemstones, though a challenge in and of itself was to capture a proper photograph among the displays of glass cases and spotlights. I pressed my lens against the display glass to minimize glare and bumped my ISO up high. Below is the result of my efforts, and my choice pink photo.

1/320 f5 36mm ISO1600 A

